The Hero’s Journey

This is a guest post by: Amber from

What is spirituality?
Having to do with coming into, connecting with, or being one with, a higher or “ultimate” level of existence or consciousness (also known as the ultimate reality, the fabric of existence, the ground of being, God, reality, nature, universal or greater consciousness, etc.)

What Is The Hero’s Journey?
Mythology can be simultaneously fascinating and complex. Fascinated by these legendary tales, author Joseph Campbell studied the myth and made the famous claim that nearly all myths, and some other story types, have similar ideas, and the heroes’ adventures are almost identical in their format. The different stages of adventure he identified have come to be called the “hero’s journey.”

Stages of the Hero’s Journey
There are three stages to the hero’s journey, and twelve steps that fall into one of three stages.

Stage 1: Departure – During this stage, the hero is preparing for his quest. This stage includes step 1, 2, 3 and 4.
Stage 2: Initiation – This begins with step 5 as the hero crosses the first threshold, and it finishes with step 10 as the hero begins the journey back.
Stage 3: Return – Beginning with step 10 as the hero commences the journey back, this stage continues through the end of the story and universal journey.

These steps come from the book “The Writer’s Journey” by Christopher Vogler, those steps are as follows.

Step 1: Ordinary World
This is the hero’s normal life at the start of the story, before the adventure begins. It’s the starting point, and it gives a perspective into the character of the hero before the adventure begins. Often, this hero will transform over the course of the story. We may see evidence of a fatal flaw in the hero at this early point in the story, the shadow self.

Step 2: Call to Adventure
The hero is now faced with something that makes him begin his adventure, it might be a problem or a challenge he needs to overcome. In general, he must make a personal choice about whether to undertake the adventure.

Step 3: Refusal of the Call
The hero attempts to refuse the adventure because he is afraid or scared of what he might find. He may feel unprepared or inadequate, or he may not want to sacrifice what is being asked of him.

Step 4: Meeting With the Mentor
The hero encounters a key being who can give him advice and ready him for the journey ahead. Acting as a mentor, this being imparts wisdom that may change the hero’s mind.

Step 5: Crossing the First Threshold
The hero leaves his ordinary everyday known world for the first time and crosses the threshold into adventure, into the unknown. making. It’s a door through which the hero must pass for the story to really begin.

Step 6: Tests, Allies, Enemies
The hero learns the rules of his new and unknown world. During this time, he endures tests of strength of will, meets friends, comes face to face with foes and faces his shadow self. This period in his journey helps him define his relationship with other characters in the story. During this part of the journey, he learns who will help and who will hinder.

Step 7: Approach
Issues occur, sometimes causing the hero to try a new approach or adopt new ideas. This is a lesson in persistence for the hero. When he fails, he needs to try again. Often, the pressure is rising, and real overall failure becomes less of an option.

Step 8: Ordeal
The hero experiences a major obstacle, such as a life or death crisis. He must come face to face with his weaknesses, and he must overcome them. This will be something he will have to somehow manage to accomplish.

Step 9: Reward
After surviving death, the hero earns his reward or accomplishes his goal. This is a moment of great evolution of the self in the story. The hero is a changed person now, though he may not fully realize the extent of the change in his continued focus on the matter at hand.

Step 10: The Road Back
The hero begins his journey back to his ordinary life; integrating his new knowledge and self back into his life will be a challenge. He is changed now after his ordeal.

Step 11: Resurrection Hero
The hero faces a final test where everything is at stake, and he must use everything he has learned. This is where his personal changes prove useful. He is now ideally suited to overcoming the obstacles in front of him.

Step 12: Return With Elixir
The hero brings his knowledge or the “elixir” back to the ordinary world, where he applies it to help all who are there. This is the true reward for his journey and transformation. Experience creates treasures.

The hero’s journey narrative can be found in all genres of literature including mystery, science fiction, thriller, romance, and historical fiction. When we recognize this important literary narrative you can gain a deeper understanding of the stories you read and experience.

I hope this post helped you learn something new and understand the concept of “The Hero’s Journey.” Thank you.


Published by Debasis

A natural leader who experiments a lot and cares for all ! The title of my blog is not about my blood group. It's a message to all my readers to think positive and write on my blog posts openheartedly what they think!!

10 thoughts on “THE HERO’S JOURNEY

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: